Change Font Size:   A A A

Jun 08, 2015 | EDOT Staff

Diocesan ECW Awards 15 Scholarships


The Episcopal Church Women of the Diocese of Texas have awarded 15 scholarships to young women attending college. They include: Elora Arana, Epiphany, Houston; Nyanna Arana, Epiphany, Houston; Azucena Canales, Christ Church Cathedral, Houston; Selena Cruz, St. Francis, Tyler; Micaela Gallagher, Christ Episcopal, Mexia; Kaillyn Lewis, St. Augustine of Hippo, Galveston; Katherine Landgrebe, St. Luke's, Livingston; Kali Ridley, Christ Church, Tyler; Madyson Meares, St. Aidan's, Cypress; Claire Roberts, Christ Church, Tyler; Angela Rock, Trinity Episcopal, Jacksonville; Stephanie Stringer, St. Alban's Waco; Christina Tilson, St. Martin's, Copperas Cove.


Vera Gang Scott received support for her studies from the ECW of Trinity, Galveston in 1920 and her gift helped to establish the scholarship fund, from which a number of young women have benefited since 1972.  Scott kept careful track of all the money she received and after starting work as a social worker, she repaid every cent. That money became the seed for the Vera Gang Scott Scholarship Fund. Scott's dream was to help others just as she had been helped.  Although she lived in Colorado, Scott always considered herself a Texan. She led an active life as an educator and continued to be involved in service to others. Vera Gang Scott was very proud that a school was named after her in Colorado Springs.