Change Font Size:   A A A

May 23, 2016

Nine Awarded Scholarships from Scott Scholarship Fund

The Episcopal Church Women of the Diocese of Texas have awarded scholarships to nine outstanding women, representing nine different congregations throughout the Episcopal Diocese of Texas. The Vera Gang Scott scholarship was funded in 1972 with a gift from Vera Gang Scott, who had received a similar gift in 1920 from Trinity, Galveston. Today, the ECW presents scholarships annually to college bound women from the Diocese.


Eligibility requires that the applicant be a female communicant of an Episcopal church in the Diocese, accepted or enrolled in an academic institution of college rank, pursuing a professional certificate or degree from a accredited institution and show financial need. Contributions to the fund continue to be received so that Vera Gang Scott and her generosity, and the support of the ECW for women of the Episcopal Church may continue. Mark donations to “Very Gang Scott Scholarship” and mail to the chair of the scholarship program, Leiselle Sadler, 9594 Doliver Dr., Houston, TX 77063. You can call Sadler for further information at 713.898.2014.


To apply for a scholarship go to or contact Sadler at



2016 Recipients


Hannah Joseph-Alvarado Christ the King, Houston
Nyanna Arana Epiphany, Houston
Sarah Box St. Timothy’s, Spring
Abbie Carson St. Mary’s, Lampasas
Kaillyn Lewis St. Augustine, Galveston
Avery Patton St. Aidan’s, Cypress
Suzanne Smith  Holy Comforter, Angelton
Michelle Vainwright Calvary, Bastrop
Robin Wesley St. James, Houston