About St. Andrew’s, Bryan
St. Andrew’s Episcopal Church
217 West 26th Street
The Rev. Dr. Sean Cox, Rector
One of the Diocese of Texas’ first bishops, Bishop Alexander Gregg established St. Andrew’s in 1866 in the Brazos County town of Millican. The following lyear, a yellow fever epidemic decimated Millican’s population and the railroad had advanced to nearby Bryan, where members of St. Andrew’s moved and reorganized. The first church, a simple clapboard building, was constructed two blocks from Main Street. In 1912, the cornerstone for a new church building was laid in the church’s present location and the congregation celebrated its first service in the new church on Palm Sunday of 1914 and still worships there today.
St. Andrew’s is the oldest church building in the city that has been in continuous use since its completion. The Gothic revival church, on the National Register of Historic Places, is widely known for its memorial stained glass windows, interior woodwork and its American classic organ. The processional cross is a link to the founders and the original church building.
St. Andrew’s is a vibrant parish with a variety of active ministries for all ages. The church is also committed to outreach in the community through its support of Neal Elementary School, the Brazos Church Pantry, the Pre-Natal Clinic, Voices for Children, the Mobile Food Bank, CROP Walk, the ESL program, Habitat for Humanity and other endeavors. In 2012, parish members will undertake a mission to the Navajo Reservation.