ECW Vera Gang Scott Scholarship

Change Font Size:   A A A

Vera Gang Scott Scholarship Application

The next deadline for applications will be March 31, 2022.

Women in good standing at their churches, and who are seeking certification or higher education at recognized institutions, are eligible to apply for the Vera Gang Scott Scholarship from Episcopal Church Women. 

The Vera Gang Scholarship Fund was started in 1972 by the ECW Board of the Diocese of Texas with a gift - her life's savings - from Vera Gang Scott. In the 1920's Ms. Scott received aid for her undergraduate and graduate degrees from the women of Trinity Episcopal Church in Galveston. She kept careful track of all the money she received. After starting work as a social worker, she repaid every cent, and that money became the seed for the Vera Gang Scott Scholarship Fund. Ms. Scott's dream was to help others just as she had been helped. Although she lived in many states, Ms. Scott always considered herself a Texan. She led an active life as an educator and continued to be involved in service to others. Vera Gang Scott was very proud that a school was named after her in Colorado Springs. 

The scholarship eligibility requirements are: 1) A female communicant in good standing, 2) Acceptance or enrollment in an academic institution of college rank, 3) Pursuing professional certification or a degree from an accredited institution, and 4) Ability to show real financial need. To apply for this scholarship, click for a downloadable application.

All applications for 2022 scholarship awards must have been received via email by MARCH 31, 2022. For more information, please contact the ECW Vera Gang Scott Scholarship Chair

Please make contributions to this fund out to The Diocese of Texas with Vera Gang Scott Scholarship in the memo line.  All contributions should be sent directly to:

Houston Diocesan Center
1225 Texas St.
Houston, TX 77002-3504

2021 Vera Gang Scott Scholarship Recipients
Ella Cammack  - St Michaels and All Angels Episcopal Church - Longview
Ruby Perry-Mize - St. Philip’s Episcopal Church - Hearne
Zoe Wilkins - St James Episcopal Church - Houston
Kaylan Johnson - St James Episcopal Church - Houston
Lisa Wright - The Episcopal Church of the Holy Spirit - Houston 
Sarah Mast  - St James Episcopal Church - Austin   
Leesa Lewis - Christ Episcopal Church - Tyler
Wendolyn Wilkins - St James Episcopal Church - Houston
Raina Cline - Holy Comforter Episcopal Church - Angleton

2020 Vera Gang Scott Scholarship Recipients
Jessica Earl - Trinity Episcopal Church, Galveston
Kaylee Roberts - St. Matthews Episcopal Church, Henderson
Robin Wesley - St. James Episcopal Church, Houston
Sarah Mast - St. James Episcopal Church, Austin
Leesa Lewis - Christ Church South, Tyler

Our 2019 Vera Gang Scott Scholarship Recipients
Erin Adams - St. Dunstan's Houston
Claire Cammack - St. Michael and All Angels Longview
Jessica Earl - Grace Galveston
Robin Wesley - St. James Houston
Ana Bruton - Trinity Houston
Kylie Cantu - St. John's Austin
Jalyn Jones - St. James Houston
Klarc Slider - Trinity The Woodlands
Christina James - Good Shepherd Friendswood
Paige Patton - St. Aidan's Cypress

Our 2018 Vera Gang Scott Scholarship Recipients
Ariana Estis, Rebecca Gray, Christina James, Emily McCarty, Chizie Ogbonnia, Faith Reyes, Carey Stangl, Brianna Thomas, Madison Vanacore, Robin Wesley, Michaela Wilkins