Music Commission

Mission Statement of Music Commission

By appointment of the Bishop, the Church Music Commission serves the laity and clergy of the Diocese of Texas by providing support services regarding the conduct and performance of worship music at both the parish and Diocesan levels. The Commission aids local parish musicians in their continuing education of church members.

Episcopal Hymnal Resources

For information or questions, please contact the chair of the Music Commission, Dr. Linda Patterson


Music Camp for Kids

Choral Festivals

Diocesan Music Camp
(Held yearly in June)

Diocesan Choral Festival
(Held yearly in October or November in Houston)


Linda Patterson, Chair
St. Andrew’s Episcopal Church
217 W. 26th Street 
Bryan, Texas 778039
ext. 105 

Music Camp Registration

Sunday, June, 9 – Thursday, June 14, 2024

The 2024 Diocesan Music Camp is open to all musicians in rising grades 6-12, with no audition. It will be staffed by professional Episcopal musicians. They will gather in Bryan/College Station for a week of music, including rotations in choral singing, instrumental and strings, handbell rehearsals, and fun activities at St. Andrew’s and in the area. Housing is at Texas A&M University.

To register your camper, please complete the Camper Registration & Health History form, Division of Youth Covenant and Tuition Payment option. There is a $75 deposit to secure your spot. However, you may choose to pay the full tuition of $675. Generous scholarships are available from the Plass Arts Foundation. Contact Linda Patterson via email at for more information. Deadline to apply is May 9th, 2024.

Additional information will be sent with your deposit confirmation.

Register Now

Mailing List of Musicians in the Diocese

The Commission maintains a mailing list and an email list of musicians in the Diocese.  

Commission Members

Linda Patterson, Chair – St. Andrew’s, Bryan

Garmon Ashby, St. Thomas the Apostle, Nassau Bay

The Rev. Marcia Sadberry,  St. Luke the Evangelist, Houston 

Calvin Fuller, St. James, Houston 

Ex-officio Members: The Right Rev. C. Andrew Doyle, The Rev. James Derkits  (Diocesan Liturgical Commission)

Translate »